6 Stages of a Disease According to Ayurveda

Ayurveda, the ancient Indian system of medicine, is built on the foundation of understanding the body’s natural balance and the factors that can disrupt it.

Samprapti” refers to the concept of disease pathogenesis in Ayurveda, an ancient system of holistic medicine that originated in India. Ayurveda views the development of disease as a step-by-step process involving various stages, each marked by specific changes in the body, and this process is described by the Six Stages of Disease, also known as “Satkriyakala” in Sanskrit. These stages provide insights into how imbalances in the body progress and manifest as illness. The Six Stages of Disease are as follows:

1. Sanchaya (Accumulation)

The first stage of the disease, Sanchaya, is akin to the slow accumulation of toxins in your body. Here, toxins or imbalances of doshas start to gather, often due to improper diet, lifestyle choices, or mental stress. Just as weeds take root in neglected soil, imbalances gather strength within the body, often unnoticed.

This stage highlights the importance of self-awareness and maintaining balance through regular cleansing practices and mindful living. This stage is crucial because it offers insights into the early signs of disease development and provides an opportunity for preventative measures.

At this stage, the body’s natural defence mechanisms and adaptive capacity are still functioning, but they are starting to show signs of stress. This initial phase involves the accumulation of doshas in their respective sites within the body.

At this point, the doshas begin to collect in their designated residences. Vata gathers within the colon, pitta occupies the small intestine, and Kapha accumulates in the stomach. Vata amasses in the large intestine, leading to signs of abdominal bloating, gas, constipation, dryness, cramps, cold sensations, anxiety, and insomnia. Pitta gathers in the small intestine, accompanied by symptoms of stomach acidity, jaundice affecting the eyes, urine, and stool, feelings of heat, irritability, a bitter taste in the mouth, and loose stools. Kapha accumulates within the stomach, manifesting as indications of slow digestion, fatigue, paleness, weighty limbs, and a heavy head.

2. Prasara (Spread)

Similar to how ripples expand across the water’s surface, the imbalances during the Prasara stage gradually extend throughout the body’s channels. It marks the phase when the illness gains a more distinct presence, extending its impact beyond its initial point of origin.

In Ayurvedic literature, this stage is frequently likened to the outward growth of a tree’s roots, infiltrating regions that were previously unaffected. Taking prompt action becomes essential to halt the progression of the imbalance and prevent it from firmly establishing itself.

3. Prakopa (Aggravation) in Disease Progression

As imbalances accumulate, Prakopa witnesses the gradual intensification of these disturbances. Like a gentle breeze stoking a flickering flame, imbalances are aggravated by further exposure to incompatible foods, environmental factors, or emotional stressors.

The body’s response becomes more pronounced, resulting in the manifestation of early symptoms. If the doshas are not contained at their sites, they get aggravated and start to overflow from their sites.

This stage marks the intensification of imbalances identified during the first stage (Sanchaya). By recognizing the signs of aggravation in doshas and taking proactive steps to address them through personalized dietary choices, herbal interventions, therapeutic treatments, and stress management, individuals can effectively halt the progression of the disease.

4. Sthana Samshraya (Localization) in Disease Progress

As imbalances gain momentum, they seek refuge within the body’s tissues. Sthana Samshraya, the fourth stage, witnesses the deposition of these disturbances into specific organs or tissues. Imagine the disease settling into a comfortable dwelling, causing localized symptoms and further compromising the affected area’s function.

Ayurveda stresses the importance of addressing the imbalance at this stage to prevent more profound tissue damage. By recognizing the symptoms of imbalances entrenched in tissues and implementing a comprehensive approach that includes tissue-specific therapies, customized herbal remedies, dietary precision, and mind-body alignment, individuals can effectively manage chronic conditions.

5. Vyakti (Manifestation)

Within this progression, the “Vyakti” stage signifies the emergence of symptoms. This phase unfolds subsequent to the imbalances of doshas deeply infiltrating the tissues (Sthana Samshraya), resulting in these imbalances surfacing and becoming apparent through distinct symptoms.

6. Bheda (Chronic)

The concluding phase, termed “Bheda,” signifies the disease’s progression from an acute phase to a chronic one. Within this stage, imbalances of doshas have firmly taken hold within the body, frequently resulting in irreversible tissue harm and ongoing complexities. While achieving complete eradication might not be universally feasible in some cases, the central goals are symptom management, enhancement of quality of life, and facilitation of the healing process.

Watch how the holistic approach helps you toward wellness

The Six Stages of Disease in Ayurveda offers an understanding of how imbalances progress within the body, highlighting the importance of early detection, prevention, and personalized holistic interventions. This ancient wisdom, a testament to the intricate harmony of mind, body, and spirit, is a timeless guide to achieving optimal well-being. Beyond suppressing symptoms, it inspires us to foster a profound connection with our bodies and the world around us.

The Six Stages of Disease are not just signposts of malaise; they are whispers from the ancient past guiding us toward restoration, reminding us that true well-being emerges when we attune ourselves to the symphony of life. So, let us tread with reverence and curiosity, for within these stages lie not just insights into disease, but profound revelations about the art of living in harmony with ourselves and the universe.

At Sri Sri Ayurveda Hospital, we also offer online consultation support with our Ayurveda specialists to get the right guidance from the comfort of your home. Connect to our specialists and plan an individual path back to health.

Scroll to Top